Ragged Clown

It's just a shadow you're seeing that he's chasing…


Sullivan’s Awards

I gave up on Andrew Sullivan a while ago but I enjoyed reading (and voting in) his tongue-in-cheek awards poll. I especially enjoyed the contrast between the entries for the Hewitt Award and the Yglesias Award and what it says about the future of the Republican Party.

The Hewitt Award – named after the absurd partisan fanatic, Hugh Hewitt, is given for the most egregious attempts to label Barack Obama as un-American, alien, treasonous, and far out of the mainstream of American life and politics.

The Malkin Award – named after blogger, Michelle Malkin – is for shrill, hyperbolic, divisive and intemperate right-wing rhetoric. Ann Coulter is ineligible – to give others a chance.

The Moore Award – named after film-maker, Michael Moore – is for divisive, bitter and intemperate left-wing rhetoric.

The Poseur Alert is awarded for passages of prose that stand out for pretension, vanity and really bad writing designed to look like profundity.

The Yglesias Award is for writers, politicians, columnists or pundits who actually criticize their own side, make enemies among political allies, and generally risk something for the sake of saying what they believe.

Full glossary here. Political Junkies Only.